is Now into Effect!
Vermont became the last state in the northeastern U.S. to enact a law to restrict the idling of motor vehicles, effective May 5. 23 V.S.A. § 1110. Prohibited idling of motor vehicles restricts the idling of all motor vehicles to five minutes in any 60-minute period. A penalty of $10.00 will be assessed for a first violation; $50.00 for a second violation; $100.00 for a third and subsequent violations.
The law contains exceptions for when idling is allowed, including but not limited to: for police, fire or emergency vehicles, for commercial buses when passengers are on board, to ensure adequate windshield defrosting, to power work-related operations for trucks, for sleeper berth purposes, for maintenance, repair, service or diagnostic purposes, and on private property for vehicles of 10,000 pounds or less.
The law will serve to strengthen ongoing idle-free educational efforts, and provides a recourse for people enduring prolonged idling of heavy-duty vehicles in their neighborhoods.
To read the full law, Google: “Prohibited idling of motor vehicles” or visit: http://bit.ly/Rc4Nhp. More about idling laws, facts, and the significant benefits in avoiding unnecessary idling are at idlefreevt.org or 802-453-5857.
|Vermont’s new Prohibited Idling of Motor Vehicles law (limits idling of all vehicles to five minutes in any 60-minute period, with exceptions) will strengthen idle-free educational efforts. Vermont, while overall a lower carbon-producing state, is transportation-intensive, with 46% of its greenhouse gas emissions coming from transportation, compared to 28% nationally. If just half of Vermont’s vehicles reduced their idling while parked by five minutes per day, the total CO2 emissions reduction could exceed 42,000 tons per year, and the total fuel avoidance could exceed 4,300,000 gallons per year.|